Posted by: Laura | January 21, 2012

A Cookie Wrapped Kiss

First blog post in about a million years . . .

Now that’s over with, when I saw this idea for Giant Hershey Kiss Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies, I knew I had to make them. As you can probably tell from my blog name I am somewhat of a cookie-lover. A lot of my food memories involve cookies. I can remember the first time I had a snickerdoodle, homemade chocolate chip cookies at my first (and currently only) ever drive in movie (with http://foodfascinations.blogspot.com/) and can tell you that if you want a safe-bet delicious cookie on the fly this is where you need to go. I could not tell you how many cookies I ate when I lived in the US. Let’s just say it was A LOT.

This is a very easy snack. All you need is cookie dough and Hershey’s Kisses. Use any cookie dough you like, homemade or a mix. I used a Betty Crocker one as I think they always turn out well. And I used the small kisses as the Giant ones aren’t so readily available in the UK and, being me, I wanted to be able to eat more than I cookie :-)

If you are a UK-er and you’ve never had Hershey’s chocolate before it starts off tasting like Cadbury’s Dairymilk but has a kind of strange, almost savoury aftertaste but in a good way. Basically, it’s not Dairymilk but it’s still nice. It’s the novelty of the shape that makes it fun. Especially adorable for Valentine’s day.

In the UK you can now buy Hershey’s at Asda, Selfridges, The Stateside Candy Company and other UK online suppliers of American food and Amazon.

Make up your cookie dough, and form into a disc on your baking tray and pop a kiss upon it.

(On a side note if you’re looking for a good baking tray for cookies, I use a flat Ikea one – no need to use baking parchment and the cookies never seem to stick. Cheap and durable too).

Next, use your remaining cookie dough to cover up the kiss, making sure that you seal the dough all around it.

Bake as your recipe or packet directs, maybe allowing an extra minute or two due to the increased size of the cookie dough ball. Remember that, because you are having to wrap up the chocolate, you won’t make as many cookies as the recipe indicates. My Betty Crocker mix made 6 cookies instead of the stipulated 8.

These are best eaten warm after cooling out of the oven for 5-10 minutes. They would be great with vanilla ice cream but we ate ours alongside rocky road hot chocolate with marshmallows. Cut open to enjoy the full glory.

Calorie update: 157 cals per cookie

I love the Picky Palate blog that these cookies came from. It features American style family food (and lots of sweets!)

You can wrap all kinds of sweet chocolate things in cookie dough to make double-sugar treats. One great idea is using up all your leftover Christmas chocolates (unfortunately ours have already all been scoffed) in Leftover Candy Cookies. I think Snickers might just be worth trying . . .

Enjoy!

L.

P.S. What season is it exactly? I have both daffodils and an amazingly-still-alive poinsettia on my table.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

